Advice

Happy Alex’s Gift Guide 2015

My friends, I don’t have many talents, but one of them, I must admit, is gift giving. If I could give a gift to everyone single one of you I would, but alas, I have no money and I don’t know where any of you live. So… instead here is my gift guide from me to you. Enjoy πŸ™‚

  1. Gift bags/stockings/mugs

I believe that at some point all my school friends have received one of these from me. Essentially, what you need to do is get a gift bag and fill it with little affordable presents, wrap them in tissue paper and hey presto merry Christmas. A few ideas of what to put in your gift bag…

  • Tea lights/candles
  • A box of fairy lights
  • Notebooks
  • Stationary
  • Rings
  • Chocolates
  • Friendship bracelets
  • Roll on perfumes
  • Books
  • CDs
  • DVDs
  • Cuddly socks
  • Packets of tea/hot chocolate/coffee or whatever they like
  • Mini eyeshadow pallets etc.
  • Weird and stupid gadgets

The list above includes good ideas to get you started, but this gift can be really easily personalized. Weird example, but if your gift receiver likes space give them space ice cream (firebox.com) a book on the formation of the stars, the moon… actually you’re probably not going to be able to fit that in, but you get the idea.Β  And if you want to make your gift bag extra Christmassy, burn it, only joking, just replace itΒ  with a stocking. Or if you’re gift receiver likes their beverages, I mean who doesn’t, by a really nice mug and then fill that with mini presents.

Websites I recommend for this type of gift:

firebox.com
Primark
Tk Maxx

And any book or stationary shop near you.

2. Make your present relevant

Think about what your gift receiver likes or what’s going on in their life right now. If they’re moving house, why not give them home accessories for their new room? If they’re moving schools, how about new stationary and a framed photograph of you and your friends?

Rhetorical questions are fun.

Reccomended sites for this type of gift:
Home ware:
Next
Urban Outfitters
Primark Home

3. DIY

If your (or you’re I’m not sure) on a small budget DIY gifts are a great idea. Make use of the talents you have. One of my friends once drew little cacti in pots and then put them in a frame – something really random but it was special because you would never find that in a shop. Another idea is to get a plain mug and use a permanent marker to draw/write something on it – I once received a red mug with “You are wonderful” written on it, and my friend had drawn flowers all around the words; it made me cry. Alternatively, you could buy a very pretty notebook and on the odd page write a little note or draw a little doodle that fills the page. I once bought a notebook and then on like every 12th page I wrote a quote and then did a doodle around it e.g. “Here comes the sun” and then I drew two friends walking up a hill and the sun was big in the sky – cute I know.

4. And if you’re still stuffed…

Does everyone understand what I mean by ‘stuffed’ because I feel like that’s a British saying – tell me below. Anyway, if your still really unsure on what to buy your friend, just go for the weird and the wacky. When going for a comical present, still try to make it useful to the person, else you’re wasting your money. The only sites I’d recommend for novelty gifts would be firebox.com (just for really cool and unique gifts) or redbubble.com (really good for someone who is into meme humor and fandoms).

5. It’s all in the wrapping

DON’T PANIC! I understand that some people just really can’t wrap, but I promise you improvement comes with time. I used to be terrible, but I think eventually you just develop a technique that works for you. A well wrapped present could make anything beneath the paper look good. Stationary shops often do little sets with ribbons and tags inside for about Β£3. I always use brown paper because I like to do gold glitter designs on the wrap, but you can use whatever you want. A cute idea is to attach tree ornaments onto each present; if you have more money to spend you can add pretty sentimental ones, but if you’re on a budget (like me!) you can buy a whole box of jingle bells for Β£3 from The Works (no sponsor – obviously)

I am very passionate about wrapping – can you tell?

10932550_414121528794407_1173774528_n
This makes me a little too happy

And that, my good friends, is my gift guide. Not what I usually blog about, but I hope you enjoyed in nevertheless. Please share any tips down below, it’s a fascinating subject for us all πŸ˜‰ I love you all lots, thank you for following me, I’m not sure why you are here, but all the same it means so so so much.

Thank you so much for reading

Alex

 

PS. I am British, so I am not sure if all the shops I have mentioned ship to where you live. All recommendations are my own.

23 thoughts on “Happy Alex’s Gift Guide 2015

  1. Your humour will be the end of me! Laughing. This was a wonderful gift guide for all ages, loved it and uhm, really curious about the meaning of stuffed!
    Also, (since you mentioned it in brackets) you’re is “you are” and your is what belongs to you, don’t know if I made any sense but hope I did!

    Like

    1. Yes it did thank you! Also thanks for reading all the way through, I’m glad you enjoyed it it means so much. And stuffed means you have no ideas//confused. It’s sort of slang, maybe I’m the only one who uses it

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you! It’s always a pleasure meeting people from all over the world thanks to the Internet, it’s also unbelievable how the most of us get along so well. And if you ever do visit Dubai in the near future, I’d love to meet you! (I’m not a creep, I promise, laughing.)

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

