Poetry

My Friend Lili-Jane

Today I have another poem for you-  that I wrote in the early hours of this morning. I have decided to post poems all the time, even if they are not ‘perfect’ because I’ve come to the conclusion that I am never happy with my work. Also, there will be a quick analysis of the meaning with every poem, I think it will be really interesting to look back on my opinions. If you have any feedback on this poem please tell me in the comments. Enjoy!

(This poem contains themes, in a metaphorical sense, of self harm. Please do not read if you think you will be effected <3)

 

My friend Lili-Jane
By Alexandra Harrison

She’s so beautiful
My friend Lili-Jane
Have you seen her?
Bright auburn curls
And a voice like the rain
Oh she dances so beautifully
With tight pulled ribbons
Round tiny waists
How can she breathe?
Young Lili-Jane

Father asks what I’m doing
Talking to thin air
Silly man can’t see Lili-Jane
As she sits beside him
On our kitchen chair
Smiling a sweet smile
Of strawberries and pear

We’re completely alone
In our little world
I sometimes wonder
If she ever gets sick of my company
But she can’t leave
My friend Lili-Jane
She  makes me so happy
When I want to die
She wipes my tears
With a cold silver knife
Watches my blood run
Ever so quickly

Lili Jane sits elegantly
Next to my death bed
She smiles a crooked smile
Strawberries and pears
That reminds me of death
Oh Lili, it’s an honour
To die beside you
I think you’ve killed me
Father will not be pleased
Run away Lili-Jane
And escape from me
please

 

Pretentious description/commentary/analysis:

So this poem is about a boy (who in my head is named Eric) who falls in love with a girl who he is hallucinating. We never truly know why Eric has these hallucinations, although it is mentioned that he is depressed. At first Eric is confused why his Father can’t see Lili, but then he sees it as an honour that he can see such a beauty, when no one else can. Eric becomes fascinated and madly in love with Lili and will do anything she tells him to do, for example self harm ‘She  makes me so happy, when I want to die, she wipes my tears, with a cold silver knife,’ Lili quite obviously drives Eric to madness that leads him to his death. Eric sees her as a real person and is worried that she will be hurt by his Father for killing him. Eric tells Lili-Jane to run away, this shows how much Eric adores Lili even though he knows she killed him. Lili is also a personification of mental illness, and when she runs away it suggests that she is about to kill another victim, which shows how many people are killed by a mental illness.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

I have improved my last poem ‘the tragedy of Sarah Parker’ which you can read here.

 

20 thoughts on “My Friend Lili-Jane

  1. Love this poem! I really love the explanation behin it. I was move and affacted [i read the note and i still read the poem. i know i’m a rebel]. I don’t know why I’m affacted. Maybe because I’m kinda suicidal

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I was moved by this poem. These are the kinds of poems that I love and enjoy reading, because it feels like I’m being transported to a different place, like my state of mind just suddenly changes as I read. Beautiful.

    (I’ll keep stalking your blog behind your back heehee)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Stalk away, I have no objections! Thank you so much for the feedback, I am so glad that you liked it. It means so much that someone has taken the time to read my poem and actually liked it?! Thanks again, you have given me so much more confidence xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This was an amazing piece and I hope you keep on writing, never doubt on your abilities. You are so creative. I’m glad you found my blog, it gave me a chance to read your beautiful work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

