Monthly Favourites

December Favourites

Hello! Happy (almost) New Year! There is a few things I would like to tell you guys before starting this post.

Firstly, Happy Birthday to Elm! You are literally one of the most kind and considerate people I have ever met. You are literally such an inspiration to everyone around you and I wish you the most lovely day.

Secondly, I won a thing! I may or may have not cried. Pathetic I know. I came joint first place with Keira in The Ambivert‘s 2015 Blogger Awards for most optimistic blogger. Thank you so much, I can’t articulate how much this even means. That’s such a lovely award to win and I really really wasn’t expecting it. Congratulations to all the winners and runners up, please go over to The Ambivert to check their blogs out!

Thirdly, thank you to everyone who joined in on the discussion on my last post, which you can view here. It made me so happy to see everyone expressing their opinions, even if they didn’t agree with mine. I am so glad that I have an audience that feels comfortable debating things with me, I really appreciated all of your intelligent comments.

And now onto the actual blog post. You get five gold coins if you’re still reading. I’m going to be talking about my December favourites today and I am really excited to talk about other interests that I haven’t expressed yet on this website. Hopefully, there will be something for everyone.

‘Fashion’

So for Christmas I got this really cute, slightly ugly, cardigan from Topshop, I literally love it so much.

 

DSCN0786.JPG

DSCN0805.JPG

Music

Amanda Palmer: Amanda Palmer is now my queen. She is the wife of Neil Gaiman and she is one of the best lyricists of all time. If you want an angry, intelligent, feminist, ukulele playing, hilarious, musician then I would like to introduce you to Mrs Palmer. 

A few songs:

In My Mind
Do It With A Rockstar
Runs In the Family

The Beatles: I had of course heard of The Beatles before and cried my eyes out to Hear Comes The Sun whilst eating Pringles like every other person, but this month I have truly fallen in love. I really admire the lyrics of The Beatles songs, which have heavily influenced my poetry in the past month. Their songs are seriously so beautiful.

A few songs:

Eleanor Rigby
Penny Lane
Hey JudeI am the Walrus
Yesterday

Make up?

Well don’t expect me to know what I’m talking about.

Urban Decay Naked 2- I was given this delight for Christmas and I was so overwhelmed that someone had spent that amount of money on me. I am already in love with the colours and have been wearing it religiously. The pigmentation is absolutely fantastic and all the shades are so wearable.
DSCN0825.JPG

DSCN0830.JPG

DSCN0837.JPG

Winged eyeliner: And then during the days when that little beauty wasn’t in my life, I enjoyed doing eyeliner. Well, I say enjoy. I enjoyed the end result but I didn’t enjoy the process that made me want to throw myself against a wall. 

DSCN0858.JPG

I was caught in the middle of a torrential downpour and my flicks still remained the same. This eyeliner is really great at staying on. It cost me about £5.99 I think.

DSCN0868.JPG

This photo was meant to show how thick the brush is and how pigmented (is that what I should say) the actual product is. It’s a little sponge applicator that is sort of cut into a triangular shape.

Films

As well as Christmas films which were an obvious favourite, I also watched this film called Remember Me. The film focuses on the life of, um, okay I’ve forgotten his name, let’s call him Bob. Bob is sort of a dead beat that smokes too much, but he’s also played by Robert Patterson and is such a sweet angel that you fall in love with him. The story is unsurprisingly about his relationship with this girl, but also lots of very difficult situations entangled within his social circle. Then the ending makes you cry for hours. Fin.

It’s very poetic and well written. I really enjoyed watching it, until I got to the end.

I should totally make Happy Alex a film blog.

Vloggers

So about four years ago I watched these videos by a creator called Kailee Mckenzie and when I watched her she was about 14. Then, sometime in early December I randomly watched one of her new videos and fell in love again. Kailee mainly blogs about fashion and she focuses on thrifting and antique items. Her videos are so laid back and she is so knowledgeable on fashion, she’s taught me a lot. She has changed since I first watched her but only in a good way, she has such strong morals and I love watching her talk about pretty much anything.

She currently lives in New York and goes to fashion college. I am even more addicted to her daily vlogs. All her content is just so laid back, but there is something about those vlogs which I just love. I think it’s how she really is different from any other beauty blogger and she is seriously such an interesting person.

Main Channel – https://www.youtube.com/kaileemckenzie
Daily vlogging channel- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCNKI5ly_DvxPFKds0Ru1NBw

Books

I must mention The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks, which is seriously such an important read. I reviewed it here.

DSCN0874.JPG

Blogging in general is my last favourite. I started this blog on the 4th December and I can seriously say it has been one of the best decisions of my entire life. Thank you so so much for the continued support, this blog is literally my home. You have made my December one of the best months of  of 2015 and I can’t thank you enough for putting a huge smile on my face everyday. Here’s to a whole new year of blogging *raises invisible glass in a toast*

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

29 thoughts on “December Favourites

  1. Hello lovely Alex!
    I loved this post and read it all through! You are awesome and I love your blog! Keep it up (I sounded like a teacher just then…hehe.)!
    HAPPY NEW YEAR! I wish you all the best for 2016 and I hope it will be a wonderful year for you.
    Lots of love,
    Truuty xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They have literally become one of my favourite bands in under a month, I am obsessed with their music. I’ve seen The Who and The Rolling Stones live but I have to say they almost beat any band hands down!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

