Life & Weekly Journal

New Year’s Resolutions 2016

Happy New Year friends! Are you sick of these posts yet? I know I’m fashionably late to the band wagon but I am all up for a bit of cheeky self improvement. I started a few of my resolutions in November and December, one of which was starting this blog (hello!) but now I have some new goals which will hopefully improve my life.

Last year’s resolution was to read 50 books, which I accomplished in June 2015. I wasn’t really proud at the time, because I love reading and it was just so fun, but I’ve realized that’s a pretty big achievement. I think I’ve read about 80-90 books this year, although I stopped counting after June.

2015 was a very successful year *everyone clicks off to go and vomit in a nearby toilet* but even I will admit I deserved it after 2014 which was complete and utter crap. Like it was really crap and I have nothing much more to say about, but I will probably write about my life story at some point.

So without further a do, let me introduce to you this years resolutions.

This is such a self absorbent post, none of you really care at all.

The previous sentence was not a resolution.

Read more non-fiction: I seriously can’t recall one non-fiction book I have ever read that wasn’t A Guinness World Records 2010. I will make it my mission this year to completely absorb myself in non-fictional titles and educate myself about the world around me.

Improve writing: In 2015 I really got into writing again and I want to try and continue that. Definitely write more poems and finish my current novella NOODLE PANDA and hopefully write many more.

Document my life: This is a resolution I started in 2015 by starting up this blog and creating my Weekly Journal feature. But I would also like to keep a real diary this year. I don’t want to write in it though. I want to fill it with Polaroids and pressed flowers etc etc and create a visual representation of my 2016.

Continue Ukulele: I don’t expect myself to be any good, but I really enjoy playing the instrument and would love to continue the hobby.

Continue to blog: Hopefully I will still be here this time next year. I absolutely love blogging and would love to go further with it. I’m not going to set any goals for how many followers I would like, but I just want to continue to write good posts that I’m proud of and make as many lovely blogging friends as possible.

And they are my resolutions! Obviously. I should hopefully be back today with The Internet Café.

Would you guys be interested in reading my novella? (a short novel, I’m not just being pretentious)  Please leave a comment down below and if the feedback is good I might post the first chapter. I hope you are all having a lovely 2016 so far.

Thank you so much for reading

Alex

31 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions 2016

  1. ooh, what’s Noodle Panda about, if you don’t mind me asking? it sounds interesting! and wow, almost 100 books! I definitely want to read more books in 2016.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Go for it! And it’s this sort of comedy, also emotional indie book thing that is essentially about this guy who completely commits himself to actually winning one of those ‘Win a free holiday to Barbados’ competitions on his packet of Noodle Panda one day. It’s obviously about more than that, but it’s been really fun to write.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love your non-fiction resolution and I might try it myself because honestly, I’ve only ever touched the Guinness World Record Book (of a year I can’t remember). Also, I’ve read way too much fiction for my own good last year (it feels so weird to say that when it was only yesterday!) …like I’ve literally BREATHED fiction…200-300 books! But this also significantly improved my creative writing skills so although I put my homework to the last minute in favour of reading, I gained something in return! And I’d love to read you novella…it sounds intriguing! Wishing you a remarkably amazing year…😄

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I know! If someone told me I was going to read that many or let alone read ANY at all 2 years ago, I would have sent them to a mental hospital! (I actually wouldn’t have…I’d just laugh hysterically in their face!). And I’d love to accompany you on your non-fiction adventures! Thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I would love to read more books this year and also learn how to play the ukulele! I play guitar and would love to learn the ukulele because it seems super fun 😝 good luck on all your resolutions!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’ve done a good job with the number of books you read, Alex! I’ve set my Goodreads reading goal to 99 Books for the year 2016 since I read 82 in 2015, I’m sure that I’m going to regret it halfway through the year because 2016 is going to be a very very very busy year.

    And what is this Panda Noodle novella I’m just hearing about. You see, it takes me a while to catch up to everybody’s posts and sometimes I end up not catching up at all, it’s terrible! So if you ever do post it, please let me know through a Goodreads message or Twitter or my blog or whatever! School starts soon and I’ll be busy like a bee, which reminds me, I need to write a post blabbering about how I’ll be inactive for a few months and oh look at me complaining on your comments! Pretend you didn’t read any of that now, laughing. Wishing you a great year ahead, lovely. 💙:]

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m still trying to set up a schedule for blogging and reading posts so I’ll post it as soon as I’m done planning! I’m really trying to find a way that doesn’t involve vanishing for a whole 5 months. If you get a mail from booksandfeathers@gmail.com then you know that’s me. :]

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

