Uncategorized

The Blogger Recognition Award

Hello! So I was nominated by LyfwithEm and notsoanonymousmermaid for The Blogger Recognition Award. Lots of love to both of you, things like this make feel so welcome and supported within the blogging community. Please check out their blogs if you haven’t already, I love reading their posts!

The Rules

-Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
-Write a post to show your award. Attach the logo to your post.
-Give a brief story of how your blog started.
-Give a piece of advice to new bloggers.
-Select 10 other blogs to give the award to.

blogger-recognition-award.png

How my blog began…

Randomly. I wanted to document my life in some way. I looked at sites such as Evernote, which are not public and are a little like Microsoft Word. But things like this were too business like. Then I stumbled across WordPress which just seemed so much more appealing. I never thought about gaining an audience until I actually started writing my post and I realized I was a ‘blogger’. Although, knowing the Internet was such a huge place, I never expected anyone to read my posts.

That was such a boring story.

Gold star if you actually read it.

 

My advice to new bloggers…

Well firstly welcome! My first piece of advice is to blog for yourself. Don’t place too much emphasis on followers, they will come eventually, it just might take a little time. Don’t be disheartened by a lack of feedback, don’t be ashamed of your work if it doesn’t get many likes, the blogosphere is a huge place and I promise you are making huge progress everyday.

Quite a lot of people have asked me how I gained so many followers. I don’t have that many really, but I think I gained a strong audience so quickly because I talked to people. The first thing I did was hop on the teen tag and start reading. I never did this for followers, I was still working out how everything worked but in retrospect, commenting on people’s blogs and exploring further into the blogosphere was probably what got me where I am today. Be lovely and people will be lovely back!

I was absolutely helpless when it came to setting up my blog. Does anyone remember my ugly grey theme which I had to choose because the one I wanted (the one I have now) I added two ABOUT pages to and couldn’t get them off. Oh boy I was bad. But try not to worry too much about presentation at first, I have been slowly improving the appearance of my blog as my skills have developed. Try to make it stand out, it might make people stay a little longer. It will give you identity within the blogosphere!

Nominations!

asa on the rise
bluenotebookgirl
paperclipsandpins
Catching up with Liam
Xingsings
Dziey
A Little Perfection
CLAIREY BEARY : MINDREADER
A Rainbow Idea
maddi1paige

35 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. congrats for this award .
    And i really like your advise , communication is key and this is the number one place to be yourself .
    And I get a gold star for reading this haha :D:D
    ps.no it wasn’t boring

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “Blog for yourself.” That is probably the best advice one can give to a new blogger. There usually comes a time when blogging can be a bit stressful like when you’re trying to juggle other obligations and priorities in your real life outside the internet, but when you do it because you love it it makes it all the more worthwhile. And agreed, interaction is key to gaining more traffic and audience. It’s not the most important thing but it’s fun to meet new people with different hobbies and interests. Thanks so much for the nomination, Alex! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much and it’s okay, you totally deserve it, your blog is amazing! And, I never planned to have an audience so I truly was blogging for myself, I think this brought a real focus on what my blog is actually about.

      Like

Leave a Reply

