Life & Weekly Journal

February Reflections and March Goals

As I think we’ve all gathered, February wasn’t an easy month, but today I started March in a really positive way. Last week, I was meant to revise for a French test, but because of my anxiety I really couldn’t. Therefore today I looked through the questions and realizing I could only make vague guesses on a few, I quickly filled in a few boxes and then sat there silently. After class I told my teacher why I hadn’t revised and how I had been feeling recently. We talked for about twenty minutes about how she could help me and I’m really proud that I found the initial courage to go and talk to her. I just think this is a really good example of how I would like March to be. I’m going to begin to value myself and the free time that I need to prevent ‘anxiety breakouts’ I know this month will have its lows, but there is nothing embarrassing or stupid about making positive changes in your life and this my friends, is what this post is all about.

How am I doing on the New Year’s Resolutions front?

Read more non-fiction

I would say I’m making progress on this one. I read the book The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat (review here) and I’m currently reading Chavs by Owen Jones, which is also non fiction. I’m LOVING this book so much, but because of my crappy anxiety, spare time was taken up lying on the floor crying.

JOKING (sort of)

But I’m loving the non-fiction reading and hopefully I’ll read more in March. I often read when I’m happy.

Improve writing

I’ve written about three chapters this month, therefore I haven’t been that productive, but your lovely comments on my post about females in YA novels (read here) has inspired me to start writing my novel again, it’s on the agenda for tonight actually. I think I wrote one poem this month called ‘The Bad Writer’ (read here) which on reflection I kind of like, so check it out if you want (and thank you for the lovely feedback on it too!)

Document my life

 I missed out one Weekly Journal, but I’m only human and my visual scrapbook is looking hella cute.

Continue Ukulele

Lol I’ve given up on this dream.

Continue to blog

I love you all.

Cook food more often

OKAY guys I made one meal. I elaborated on my instant noodle recipe and added loads of vegetables and a nice sticky chilli sauce (homemade) and it was so good! Now I need to work on the ‘often’ part of that resolution.

 

Reviewing my February Goals:

See friends out of school: So I made a specific effort with this one and actually went out to Pizza Hut with all my friends. It was really fun, but I still need to do these things more often.

 

Keep writing novella (maybe finish second draft): Okay, so I have most definitely not finished that second draft, but I have decided to add like a whole different plot line, so the story is going to take longer to finish. I have written this month, but I’ve spent more time thinking about where I’m going with the book in general, because I did literally just dive into writing it. Hopefully this month will include a lot more writing though.

MORE GOD DAMN READING: I did more, but still not enough. 

Actually make time to watch Shadowhunters: I did make time, but I’m still about three episodes behind, oh well, I’m sure I’ll catch up.

Get a debit card set up, because I’m sick of having 0% finical independence: Success!

Put things in saucepan. Stir things. Eat things: I did this once okay, I’m working on it.

Blogging:

OOTM: The fashion post that I promised is done. Throughout February I took photos of almost all my outfits, now I just need time to compile them all into a post. I’m really nervous to post it though, it’s going to be first time you’re all going to see my face and body.

The return of The Internet Café: Yes! It’s not a weekly feature, but the posts I have produced I’m really proud of.

More book reviews: I did act on this and I reviewed The Man Who Mistook His Wife For A Hat, but that’s only one book and I quite simply need to read more.

 

MARCH GOALS:

  1. Write more of my novella.
  2. Cook more and even try baking.
  3. Read more books and do a review.
  4. Possibly do more guest posts/allow people to guest post on my blog.

Really simple goals this month, but that’s all I can think of. I’m not going to come up with some elaborate plans and adventures, because the most important thing for me is to be happy.

In my heart, I know that February wasn’t a bad month, it was a really good month in fact. I went out a lot more, for example I visited restaurants and museums and went on lots of long walks with my Mum. Also, YOU GUYS WERE AWESOME! Thank you for being such a fantastic community. I got so much feedback on posts such as Are you on your period or something? or my most recent post My Achievements and I appreciate it so much. Ambi designed a beautiful header for my blog , I featured on Stephanie’s Teenage Blogger Spotlight and I joined a new collab blog called This&That.  But as we all know, at times, the anxiety really got me down, but I honestly feel that March is going to be better, because I want to make it better. I’m not ignorant, I know that at times March will be stressful and upsetting, but who says that means there can’t be any good to?

I wish you all a lovely month.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

 

 

27 thoughts on “February Reflections and March Goals

      1. Oh Alexx,
        I am so lucky to be your friend. I’ve got the opportunity to have such a nice friend here on the internet and I really appreciate your kindness. And you’re so welcome. I am grateful to you. And I want you to know that if you ever need someone to talk to I’m here. You can email me when you need or want to. Bye 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. The header is absolutely gorgeous, you know. I’ve been eying it enviously ever since you put it up. Also, you seem to have made a great start to March, and getting through February is an achievement in itself – even at the best of times it’s always a tricky one, despite being the shortest. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. YAAAS gurl you got it all figured out… i need to make some march goals because february was just terrible ;-; *skips to read linkd posts i’ve missed out on being a ball of uselessness basically all of last month*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw babe I’m sorry to hear that and I hope March is better – there is no reason why it shouldn’t be! And aw thanks for reading that pots it really means a lot !!!!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

