Opnions and Ramblings

The Little Writer’s Story

I have been writing stories and poems almost all my life and as somebody who has only just recently tumbled out their childhood dusted with innocence and glitter (obviously), I thought I’d share with you my journey as a writer and my journey as a little person into a slightly bigger person.

Also second post in one night, I’m spoiling you.

I started writing when I was about five years old and I used to hand make little books (complete with illustrations). I remember making a book in the garden about wolves (that’s all I can remember) and being very proud, but then I discovered that as I was writing my debut novel all my crayons had melted in the summer’s heat. This is actually very reflective on my creative evolution (that’s a thing) as a child, because I used to be very good at drawing, but the writing took over and I neglected my art. Now I literally struggle to draw a stick man. The little handmade books with one sentence on each page, were just like the books I used to read when I was really young – my earlier works are inspired by The Very Hungry Caterpillar and other such novels.

As I got slightly older I started to write slightly bigger books. There’s one that I wrote called My Cat Fluff about a stray cat that gets found by a nice girl, probably called Ella or Isabelle (common names for all female characters at this stage in my life) My Year 3 teacher liked my book so much, that she laminated it and then started up a ‘class library’ where we’d all share the stories we’d written with our classmates for reading. This was probably the last time I shared my writing with anyone my age (a few exceptions) so when I say I’m a writer and poet, they probably think I’m writing My Cat Fluff Volume 25 featuring abstract poetry.

When writing books like this, I was obsessed with Holly Webb’s series about abandoned animals, so that might have been a slight influence.

images
Oh my gosh the nostalgia, I’ve read all of these!

And also pretty much every character I wrote reflected how I was, I even described them to look like me. I think that’s because I was the only little girl I knew well enough to describe and also I really wanted a cat at the time, so depicting myself in a fantasy setting getting a cat was very fun.

Update: I now have a cat, she is currently sitting on my knee purring. She is my best friend.

I then started to write fantasy ‘books’ when I was around 8 or 9. This was the time when I was discovered  Harry Potter and JK Rowling (the love of my life), so of course I went under the name of AC Harrison when signing my books. I was also influenced by Enid Blyton and came up with original gems such as ‘The Enchanted Forest’ or ‘The Magical Garden’ Although  not all of my books were knock offs. I did do a full novel about this sort of fantasy place featuring all my friends as elves/fairies etc but it did finish with ‘and it was all a dream’ Not the most original ending.

When I was around eleven years old, I was doing my end of primary (elementary) school exams and when teaching you how to write as a child the general message is ADD AS MANY ADJECTIVES AS YOU POSSIBLY CAN, NEVER SAY ‘AND’ OR ‘SAID’ BAD WORDS BAD WORDS. PUNCTUATE ALL THE TIME WITH SEMI COLONS, VARY YOUR SENTENCE STRUCTURE EVERYTHING’S A METAPHOR. And being the budding writer that I was, I completely took this on board and basically at this age my sentences were stacked full of thesaurus found words and long winded similes.

During this time, I wrote a highly gory book called ‘Going Solo’ which was actually a sci-fi novel, probably influenced by my passion for Dr Who.

I wrote my first poems when I was 11-12. I can’t tell you they were any good, but in all fairness, poetry is hard and I think I did better than most kids my age. I wrote a poem for my Grandma when she died and they put it on the back of the leaflet-thing for her funeral. It wasn’t very good, but I can’t really write under pressure. I also had a 60 page document on my computer holding a ton of almost mass produced poems, that files on the old laptop that we threw away, it’s a shame I’ll never read them.

Until late 2014 and early 2015 I stopped writing and reading too. My writing had traveled with me and the poem I wrote for my Grandma when she died probably put a stopper on my childlike imagination. A lot happened in 2014 and it’s something I struggle to talk about and when I returned to writing I was a baby once again to the world of words. I wrote sci-fi first, picking up where I’d left off, but I soon found my niche when I wrote a short story called Wonder. It’s a defining moment in my style. I read a lot more sophisticated literature, exploring the genres and looking back, it makes me realize how much reading can improve a writer. I produced a lot of stories and early poetry in 2015. I started writing Noodle Panda around December time and even though I know I’ll never finish the editing (fallen out of love) I’ve learned a lot from the experience. Although I HATE the first draft chapters I posted on my blog, because I know that’s not a true representation of the kind of writer I am, it frustrated me and I honestly feel ashamed.

I picked up poetry in late 2015 and have only recently found a style I’m fairly happy with, although my poetry is in its infancy and I know that it will change and improve as I get older.

I’ve realized whilst writing this, how much my life is reflected in my writing. I am so aware everyday of how much I’m changing and growing. I’m so glad I wrote everything down as I grew up, random little stories from a random little girl dismissed as ‘odd’ or ‘strange’ or ‘funny’ I thank her very much for having  faith in her abilities and to the authors who have influenced me, I owe this all to you.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

 

 

 

38 thoughts on “The Little Writer’s Story

  1. This is so sweet! I loved learning this, and it looks like your writing is always very successful ;D
    What frustrates me is that when I write, I get inspired very quickly and I start a story, and depending on how much time I have I will write PAGES AND PAGES. Well, type, really. But I rarely ever come back to them, and I can NEVER write a story but plotting it out on a sheet of paper.
    Your writing sort of reminds me of my drawing. I’ve always drawn on my own even without lessons, and I feel like not taking lessons gives me my own unique style. My style will never stop evolving and getting better. I can tell you, at the moment I will think that I have really good drawing skills (so modest, I know) but later I will look back and say, “Ick. I hate how I used to draw.” Trust me, it’s happened. Several times.
    Sorry, I didn’t mean to make this comment so long. It could be a post of it’s own! O-O

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know the feeling, many of my ideas have died on a word document somewhere, never to be found again. The only thing I would recommend (and it’s a big recommend) is planning. Without it your book will lose direction, it will get tangled up in excitement and then it will go flat. I know planning is boring and you just want to write, but you’ll thank yourself later. If just sitting down with a sheet of paper doesn’t work, draw your story, or visualise it’s path, or just make a few bullet points. And my writing style is changing constantly, but I see it as a positive thing, just enjoy what you’re doing right now and you’ll never know where your creativity Will take you !

      Like

  2. I loved reading this Alex. I remember when I was 7 that I wrote an 8 a4 page book and I was so proud of myself. Now, as an 11 year old I mostly write following my feelings and about the troubles of the world..
    You write so well!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this post.
    Personally I think your writing is so original. Especially some of your poetry, like the one
    Acid and smoke.
    That’s probably not the name.
    But the alternative lines that always symbolise something.
    I find it pretty great.
    Just saying 🙌

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aw thank you so much, it means a lot that you remembered some of lines. Acid and smoke are the repeating lines of the poem, but the title is ‘the river’ 🙂 thank you so much for your lovely words x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this post! True, a person can be only a writer if they read books. I wish I could read your books, that would be awesome. I wrote a novel few years back, though I left it in the middle of it. ;-;
    Have a good day!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah it happens, why don’t you return to it? Even if you don’t want to continue writing the same story, take a little section and put a new spin on it. And yes, reading is vital, thank you so much for taking the time to read!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. You are so damn talented //I’m jealous //haha..no i’m not! I wish I could read your books someday. 😉 I used to write poems too, but I realized they were kiddish and stopped :/ I wanna become a writer one day, and now I know you are an inspiration for sure 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw no keep writing poems – mine started off childish and stupid, but through practice i improved and will continue to improve. I’m glad you enjoyed the post, I would love to see some of your writing!

      Like

  6. This was so great I love to hear how people started writing…it kind of reminded me of my own story. And Alexx, you’re an amazing writer, and I love your style!
    And I totally relate to the one name period, all my characters were girl and named Anne for the longest time.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This was lovely to read, it reminded me so much of myself when I left the world of drawing and dived into the world of reading and later on fell in love with writing. It also reminded me of how much our hobbies shape us and in return we shape our hobbies, if that makes any sense. I just feel like while things influence us we influence them too by having them adjust to who we become, so don’t feel ashamed at all of the Noodle Panda piece (which I’m yet to go back to and finish reading whatever chapters you posted, I missed out on them.) Thank you for sharing your journey with us, Alex. :]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t agree more, you put it perfectly. I’ll be posting another short story today (hopefully) so feel free to read that, the noodle panda chapters were made private, because i didn’t feel comfortable keep them up. Lovely to hear from you again X

      Like

  8. This was actually incredibly inspiring! I also always used to write stories. In Year 7 my English teacher used to let us read out things we wrote at the beginning of class and I would always write short stories and we would discuss them afterwards… unfortunately my classmates weren’t very critical, so I didn’t improve that way, but I did get to share the short stories I was writing. I wrote some poetry too, although not as much, and I like to think it was okay. Now I’m working on a novel, but I find it very hard to plan novels, so I generally end up stopping part way through due to running out of steam or no longer liking what I’m writing. I think I still model my main characters off of me a little bit: they are all very short. I guess that’s partially because I don’t read a lot of books with really short girls. By short I mean 5’2″, which isn’t massively short, unless you live in Germany like I do, where most girls are like 5’6″ 😀

    Good luck with your writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your writing Alex sure is a beautiful thing. I loved reading you have been writing since you were little. I never really started writing until I was 16 but when I did I exploded and the next 15 years became very prolific and conquering all genres. Writing is fun for me. I like to write for other people. Writing is good for my health and something that is very important to me in my life. I always feel better after writing and write every day.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You can read my stuff on my wordpress but if you want I can send you them through attached documents through email if you have an email that you use for public. I can pick some good stuff. What do you like to read? With 25 books and almost a 1000 short stories there is plenty to pick from. Your welcome I’ll be reading more of your writing.

        Like

Leave a Reply

