Opnions and Ramblings

Reasons Why I am a Feminist

Anyone can be a feminist. You just need to believe that all genders have equal rights. If you can do that, congratulations you are now a really awesome person who can make a whole lot of difference in the world.

Some people think that feminism is about attacking men and when I tell them I am a feminist, because I believe in gender equality for everyone, people think that isn’t feminism at all. The word ‘feminist’ has become a taboo and its  demonization is only yet another example of what we’re fighting for. If you are unsure about feminism, please don’t make this post your only source of information, today I’m simply going to explain why I identify as a feminist and maybe why you should too.

I recognize the terrible way in which women have been treated throughout history and feel that this needs to change in modern society.

I appreciate and admire the wonderful and intelligent women in the world and I think that they should not  be undermined because of their gender, but celebrated for their strength.

I believe that all women should have equal opportunities, regardless of race, sexuality, culture, religion etc.

I believe that women should have the same opportunities as men. And I  also recognize that this does not happen in some areas of the world and I am eager to change this.
I don’t believe that the modern model of a woman or man should be defined by stereotypical expectations.

I believe that women should be free to make their own decisions.

I believe that women should be valued and respected as members of our society.

I believe that gender based assumptions should not explain a woman’s decisions.

I love and respect the female form.

I support the empowerment of transgender women and transgender men.

I believe that the ideas of ‘masculinity’ and ‘femininity’ are outdated and can be redefined by the individual if they want to.

I want women to be able to feel beautiful, empowered and liberated.

I think women should be allowed to wear and do whatever they want, as long as they are respectful to themselves and others.

I think that all genders should be respected and loved in romantic relationships. They should not be exploited or harassed because of their gender.

I believe that gender is personal and the only person who should be able to define it is the person themselves. And if they are unsure or would rather not say, that is okay too.

I believe in the equal rights of all genders.

…. because I am a feminist and a proud one too.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

33 thoughts on “Reasons Why I am a Feminist

  1. So much ‘YES!’ throughout this post 😊

    Feminism is an integral part of overall equality and that is indeed why we should all be feminists. Of course there are areas where men are demonised too, but to dismiss the term ‘feminism’ is to ignore the undeniable mistreatment of women throughout history.

    Great post! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’ve summarised my thoughts exactly! I couldn’t agree more. If only women are feminists then we do not have an equal society. It is impossible. I think most people would be feminists if they actually knew what it meant. Thank you so much for reading – yes to feminism!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Yay! Great post ☺ I feel like there’s still a lot of educating to be done on this topic. Not all feminists are radical feminists asking for a gender revolution. We just want equality. Nothing dramatic

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Yes, yes, yes! There’s still so much work to do when it comes to estabilishing this topic, but posts like yours are definitely helpful! It’s important for people to understand what feminism actually means, and not just assume that we hate men! Equality it’s not a big demand.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, we need more discussion on this subject, but I feel that we are definitely definitely moving forward. Hopefully we will continue to see the changes we deserve. I’m glad you liked the post, thank you so much for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think more should identify as feminists, but I also think that some women might be afraid to identify with feminism if their religion doesn’t completely agree with some feminist ideals. I have faced and continue to face this dilemma so many times! Plus, I feel that the word feminism leaves out agender and genderqueer or genderfluid people. We should have a new word…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t think we need a new word exactly, feminism began by empowering the woman but that doesn’t mean we can’t include all genders etc. We are fighting for gender equality for everyone. I think religion is an interesting topic in feminism and it’s something I often think about. For example the free the nipple campaign, could that offend some religions? I’m not sure, I haven’t really looked into it, but there’s lots to think about.

      Like

      1. It might offend Muslims, as Malala was a bit offended when she saw how revealing people could be in the West. I don’t know for sure. I don’t know how that works, as people are now saying Muslims can be feminists. I am not sure about my religion.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think everyone can be a feminist! Because feminism is about human rights and equality, which everyone is entitled to. If you don’t mind me asking, what is your religion? x

        Like

  5. YESSSS JUST YES. Thank you so much for this post, so many people misunderstand feminism and turn it into being about women being superior but that’s not it at all!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I love this post. I agree with everything you say. It is sad that we have to fight for equality. If only people realized that we are all just humans.
    I had to follow you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. And you’re my 400th follower, so thank you so very much! Hopefully if we all discuss gender equality more, it will become at the forefront of modern society! Thank you again!

      Like

Leave a Reply

