Opnions and Ramblings

I’m an Actress

This is a response to a post I wrote in December called I’m an Actor. For a long time, this was a post I was really proud of, but looking back I don’t really agree with what I was saying. At the time, I was just beginning to figure out the concept of gender and went through a phase of not believing gender existed. I began the post by saying I didn’t want to be defined by my gender and now I think this sounds like I wasn’t proud of being a woman. I thought that women were at a disadvantage in the world and therefore I didn’t want to be associated with being a young woman and I wanted to be treated the same way as a man, thus the idea of being an actor.

I now think gender matters as much as you want it to matter. For some people they don’t care what gender people think they are, but for some people their gender is incredibly important to them and a huge part of their internal being. My opinion should never dictate how you see yourself or the importance you hold to your gender and by saying gender is unimportant, I feel like I was being very insensitive.

I used the example of ‘actor’ and ‘actress’ because I didn’t think gender was relevant in the workplace and it did not impact the talent of the actor/actress so there was no need to distinguish gender in Art. I thought that by saying I was an ‘actress’ people would judge me and therefore I didn’t want to be recognized as an actress and thus a woman. But, despite the oppression, I think I should still call myself an actress, because I am proud of being a woman. By demonizing the term ‘actress’ I am only adding to the oppression women are already facing and I am not recognizing the incredible work of many actresses, and women in general, over the course of history.

I don’t hate everything I said in that post. My heart was in the right place and I made some valid points, I was totally right in thinking we shouldΒ  SCREW STEREOTYPES. Gender is what you want it to be and it can mean as much or as little to you as you like. I will not be defined as such by my gender, no one should be defined by anything, but I have personally decided to celebrate it and be proud of my gender, because despite all the crap society gives women, we’ve done some pretty awesome shit.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

 

(Read my collab post with Ariana (Raven wings) here about immigration. It’s just been uploaded and we would both appreciate it if you gave it some love)

33 thoughts on “I’m an Actress

  1. Pingback: I’m an actor
  2. This is so insightful. I’m very much for gender neutrality, especially encouraging little children not to think “pink is for girls” and so on but at the same time there’s nothing wrong with being male and female and being proud of it. Lovely post❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much. You seem to have very similar views to me. I encourage gender neutrality, especially in little children. But I think once someone knows their gender, there is nothing wrong with being proud of that gender and after all women have been through throughout history, I find it very empowering as a young woman to celebrate myself and the amazing women in the world.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, yes, yes, YES! I think that it’s about time your gender doesn’t define who you are or who you are supposed to be. I’m proud to be a young woman and I hope that one day everyone can be proud of whoever they are xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad and I’m happy that you’re proud to be a young woman and who you are, we can stand proud together and life those up who are struggling. Thank you so much for reading Ruth, it means the world xx

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love this! I believe people should not be discriminated against on their race, gender, sexual orientation, religion, etc. But it does occur in this world. Personally, I am proud of being a woman. I do believe there are some things women can do that men can’t (like giving birth for the obvious example) and vice versa. But that doesn’t make a gender weaker than the other. It simply makes humanity’s need to work together stronger.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That was perfectly put. I love the part where you said genders should work together, it was just so positive and celebrated unity, which I’m all about. Thank you so much for reading! xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my gosh, Alex! That was absolutely, perfectly, said! Our genders don’t define us. They don’t make us the people we are. BUT, we should feel proud and confident with who will feel we are! Whether that being a female or a male – We should be happy no matter what we believe. I, for one, am so, so, proud and happy with being a female. And I always will be! πŸ™‚

    You should be proud of yourself. You’re so amazing xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so so so much, I’m glad someone understands. Feeling happy and confident with you who you are is SO important and I wish society would stop shaming people who respect and care for themselves as ‘arrogant’ there’s a huge difference

      Like

Leave a Reply

