Poetry

pink

Pink
by Alexandra Harrison

JuliaHetta07-700x475.jpeg
Photography by Julia Hetta

Pink,
Lingerie,
Slipped over pinkish breasts.

Pink,
Eyeshadow,
Glistening on waxy lids.
Tired eyes swelling pink,
From fatigue,
And forget-me-not alcohol.

Curving pink skin.
Is now stretched
And pulled thin,
Over a pink and greasy baby,
With little pink toes
Now shoved into pastel baby grows.
Its screams,
Silenced by a pink plastic dummy,
Held by pink wet lips.

A pink mouth, a long time later,
Kissing red angry mouths.
Ripped and teared,
A pink dressing gown
Lies scattered on a pink bedroom floor,
Reeking of pink fragrances
And saturated in pink lighting.

Pink.
Pink.
Pink.
Tablets and plasters and…
Blue hospital blankets.
A protest that covers,
A pink bleeding girl.

The purple nurse tells her,
That she’s looking rather blue,
But the girl simply smiles,
And falls back to sleep.

 

The colour pink is used to represent the stereotypes forced upon women. Some women choose to embrace these stereotypes, but others feel trapped and confused and unable to express themselves ‘Its screams, silenced by a pink plastic dummy’ is used to show this.

There are two women portrayed in this poem (a mother and a daughter). The mother represents someone who has grown into their pink as such and has accepted it as part of who they have to be. In some ways they could feel beautiful and empowered by celebrating their definition of femininity, however there are themes of alcohol in the initial two stanzas about the mother and forgetting an event, thus the phrase ‘forget-me-not alcohol’ The girl’s story is illustrated in all the other stanzas and I’m going to explain her in a tiny bit more detail below, however I will say that I chose two generations to represent how this is an issue that has been prevalent through the course of history.

The poem illustrates how from the moment of birth what I will call ‘pink culture’ is forced down girl’s throats and ideas of masculinity and femininity are ingrained into every inch of our society. For example, girls who prefer to do more ‘masculine’ activities are labeled as ‘tom boys’ etc which makes it seem as if we are outcasting young girls from a gender they thought they belonged in. The girl portrayed in the poem is definitely experiencing these issues and deals with her own confusion through reckless behavior. Pink is described in a dirty and repulsive way by the girl, which reflects her deep hatred and frustration with the expectations society have put on her and the idea of ‘pink culture’

At the end of the poem, the nurse in the hospital calls the girl ‘blue’ And for anyone who doesn’t know, blue is a common figure of speech for someone looking sad. The nurse meant it in this way, but for the girl blue represents everything she wasn’t allowed to be and the term has an irony about it and because of this, I considered calling the poem the ‘blue pinkish girl’ The smiling represents a new era of self empowerment and self discovery (discovering gender, sexuality etc).

I hope you enjoyed this poem, it’s one I’m actually sort of proud of and I would really appreciate feedback below.

Thank you so much for reading,

Alex

42 thoughts on “pink

  1. I really loved this. First of all the poem itself was amazing and actually very clear (often with poetry the meaning behind it is kind of vague to my simplistic mind) but secondly it’s a very intelligent and well thought out piece. You’re an amazing writer, I hope you submit this to a magazine or something xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I find that with poetry sometimes too and often it can be frustrating. Thank you so much, your words mean so much to me. I actually half like this piece but I don’t feel that it’s good enough for anything like a magazine.

      Like

  2. I’m going to second submitting it to a magazine like the previous person said. There’s an online magazine named rookie that is really popular and is a collection of people’s work and it is my goal to have something of mine publish in one of their books this year and I’m still working toward that but I think yours and any other writings of yours will make a great addiction to the magazine. I must say you’re really improving your writing and it’s amazing the concept behind this one . I can relate to this because I’ve always wore baggy stuff not because I’m trying to rebel against society expectations of a female but because it’s comfortable for me. I sometimes wonder if that’s why guys in my school like the over the top girly girls as oppose to the more chill out girls like me. I’ve always been like this and I will always be but I decided lately that I wanted to take better care of myself and put more effort into my appearance but I’m glad to say it is not because I want guys to like me but rather because I just want to practice self love and just care more about myself.
    There’s this girl that goes to our school that is super into makeup and I mean majorly. And we were discussing our career in one of my classes and the teacher asked the girl what she was trying to Pursuit And one guy shouted “cosmology ” and the majority of the class laughed and agree but it wasn’t what she wanted to do with her life and I just think it sucks how men sees woman as the weaker gender and think we can’t use our brains and hands to do whatever they can do. The girl is really smart and the fact that she was into dressing up and looking put together doesn’t have anything to do with it. And so I agree with being forced as girls to all be feminine and are less desirable when they’re “tom boys ”
    Great poem 😍😊👌🏿

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll go and check out that magazine, thank you so much for reccomending it to me. And yes, your annecdotes illustrate my point perfectly. I hate the assumption people make when a woman wears/doesn’t wear make up and it’s also interesting how someone like myself, who wears some make up, is presumed to not wear any and sometimes I wear the glitteriest eyeshadows to school and no one notices, because they’re not looking for it. They will never expect me to be sexy or attractive, I’m labelled as a nerd and it’s a good job I wear that make up for my own self empowerment. I’m glad you’re learning to care for yourself, that’s so incredibly important and I think it’s neglected as a key elment to our mental well being. You do not need the validations from boys etc, you are beautiful and intelligent and just as I do, on the other side of the world, we can look beautiful for ourselves and ourselves only. I’m really glad you liked the poem, it means so much!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s almost 1 am and I’m too tired to actively give feedback, but I don’t even think I have any feedback to give. What I love most about this poem is the message behind every line, every word.. you truly have a gift, Alex!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This poem does have a lot of meaning in it, gender is something I’m very passionate about discussing, so it was lovely to do that through poetry, I’m glad you enjoyed reading! Now go to bed haha

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I tell you that I love your poems a lot but this one has to be my favourite of them all. In itself it sounds absolutely amazing and beautiful but the meaning behind it is everything. I think you really described everything really well and its the perfect representation of the perspective. Although femininity is amazing and fantastic, society really does shove it down our throats and forced us to be, sometimes who we don’t want to be and at times its really hard to break out of that shell. Our society really has cast labels on different people and although it may not be the intention, you’re completely right in it kind of casting people out.

    It goes both ways, with men feeling the need to be what society labels as a normal or a perfect guy and its really threatening especially in the instance of a person growing up into that (which you again portrayed perfectly). Guys who like things pushed towards females are labelled ‘gay’ (which is a whole other important topic about LGBT+ stereotypes, labels and discrimination) and although it itself is not offensive, it hurts both those that identify as gay and the person themselves deeming themselves as ‘un-normal.’

    You’re writing really is so great in this poem and the message of it is so important, you SHOULD be proud of this one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had to think for a long time about how I was going to reply, because it means so much to me. I’m so happy that you liked the poem and I’ve written another poem called ‘blue’ discussing issues with masculinity, but it’s not as good so I’m going to hold back until I improve it. And I’m really interested in talking about LGBT+ issues on my blog more often, it’s something I’m also very passionate about. Thank you so much for taking the time to read X

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Alex how have you been? How is your weekend going? I love this poem. When you talk about gender roles I think of even gender roles with wrestling. The men are there to be liked for their wrestling and the women all are just thought of as eye candy or a very small part of the show. I think women should get bigger roles in wrestling to me they can do better than the men and should get to finish the shows sometimes. I have an indy pro wrestling friend Santana who inspires a lot of young girls with her personna. She is a real nice and sweet lady.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes I totally agree, I think there should be more representation for the amazing women in sports such as wrestling. And I’m good thank you, it’s been really sunny today so I’ve been walking in the countryside. Thank you for asking!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I mean, I believe in feminism…not- OKAY THIS HAS GONE MAJORLY WRONG.
      basically, this is an amazing poem, you’re awesome. This poem made me think and in a good way.
      Yes, that’s what I meant to say XD

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

